To the Delta Zeta Museum

Take the virtual tour

Back to Map

Delta Zeta Significant Anniversaries

Scene :

Delta Zeta Significant Anniversaries

With each passing decade, Delta Zeta charted progress and growth in the Sorority. This cabinet chronicles Delta Zeta's significant anniversaries and Delta Zeta's history and expansion up through the year 2002, and contains mementoes from those milestones.

The Silver Anniversary of the Sorority in 1927 was marked with the gift to Miami University of the Memorial Sun Dial, designed by Iva Stock Smith, Miami (OH) - Alpha. By this time, Delta Zeta had 25 college chapters and 20 alumnae chapters. The official Silver Anniversary celebration took place at the National Convention in 1928, with Founders Julia Bishop Coleman, Mary Collins Galbraith, Mabelle Minton Hagemann and Anne Simmons Friedline receiving silver candlesticks to honor the occasion.

The 50th anniversary in 1952 saw Delta Zeta's history chronicled in two special anniversary issues of The LAMP. The three living Founders, Alfa Lloyd Hayes, Julia Bishop Coleman and Mary Collins Galbraith became the first members of the Order of the Golden Rose in recognition of 50 years of membership, which they received at the Golden Jubilee National Convention.

The Diamond Jubilee, marking the 75th anniversary of the Sorority, was celebrated one year after the first Greek organization founded in the United States, Phi Beta Kappa, celebrated its bicentennial in 1976. At the 1977 National Convention, delegates visited Miami University and the surrounding Oxford, Ohio area to commemorate the Sorority's founding.

In 2002, Delta Zeta celebrated 100 years of sisterhood on Miami University's campus for the Centennial Convention and Founders Day. The Centennial Year, October 24, 2001-2002, was marked with Delta Zeta members around the world honoring their pledge to enrich their campuses and communities with special gifts and service projects.

Items from this scene